BCIRPU Director Dr. Ian Pike has received the 2019 Fire Researcher of the Year Award from the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs.

Dr. Pike was recognized at the Fire Rescue Canada Awards Gala Dinner on September 16 in Calgary, Alberta.

“On behalf of my collaborators, I am extremely honoured to receive this award,” Dr. Pike said. “Thank you to the Fire Chiefs for their contributions to improving fire safety in Canada.”

BCIRPU has received funding from the City of Surrey to collaborate with the University of the Fraser Valley and the Surrey Fire Service on projects related to firefighter health and safety as well as to explore cause, incidence, and rate of fire-related injuries and deaths in Canada. We have been working closely with Len Garis, former Surrey Fire Chief and current Associate Scientist Emeritus at the BCIRPU, on these projects. Len Garis was awarded this year’s Fire Chief Researcher of the Year Award.

Learn more about BCIRPU’s research on burn and fire safety.